After trying out many Linux distro's on my old laptop I settled for Linux Mint Fluxbox as it is full featured with everything you need on a desktop OS out of the box, and is a bit different and cool.  It runs acceptably on my old laptop, which is better than most that I tried, but is not fast by any means.  Only Slitaz ran fast, but being a light distro didn't have everything you need for day-to-day use.

But now there's a new option, Peppermint One.  It's light enough to run well on my way old laptop, looks nice, and has most of what you need.  It's 'cloud' focused with links to web apps for many things you'd normally use desktop software for, such as office and image editing.  However being based on Ubuntu/Mint you can still install all your favourite software and make use of the great UI.  There is also Peppermint Ice that uses Chrome rather than Firefox if that floats your boat.  I'll be keeping this one for a while.

Comments are closed.